Words, Keys, and New Years

Well, it’s been a full year… In more ways than one. If you’ll remember with me, my word for the year was “trust.”
I blogged a little about that back here and here. It’s definitely been a year of trusting… But not in the “10,000 revelations of trusting” that I felt like I was supposed to have. I had friends all year remind me of my word during certain situations, or just ask me about what it was teaching me. I already blogged about it, but my biggest thing with trusting this year was learning and believing that Jesus trusts ME! That changes everything. It reveals more and more about how much He loves me (and you). I mean, the God of the Universe, the one who is big enough to know everything about anything, yet small enough to know each thing about me, trusts me. He trusts me with His heart, His hands, His feet, His mind… We have been given Christ in us. God trusts us. Even when we mess up, we get endless chances to be trusted again. That, is good news.
I also bought a Giving Key around this time last year that had the word “trust” engraved on it. I’ve blogged about The Giving Keys before, but seriously… Check them out. The gist is to keep your key for awhile, sporting whatever word you’ve chosen, and then…eventually you give it away to someone who may need that word, and you encourage them to do the same.
I was thinking a couple weeks ago how December was almost over and my Key hadn’t been given away yet. I felt a little sad, and selfish. There were probably several people I could’ve given my Key to throughout 2013. My laziness, coupled with doubt that I had truly mastered this trust thing enough to pass on my key, kept it hanging from my car’s rear-view mirror. So, one day as December drew to a close my mind was swimming for a whole two minutes with who I could give my Key to. I know plenty of people that I could pass it on to, I love doing things like that. But, none of it was just right… the timing and all that. And then, I think God spoke, or whispered is more like it, but all in the same it became very, very clear. When her name popped into my head, I knew it was her. I knew it had to be her. She was moving the next week to another state. And yes, of course. Trust.
This little encounter happened in the car, so as soon as I got home I rushed to my room and started writing her a card. I didn’t know what I was going to say, but the words just kind of flowed out and threw up all over the card. I wish I could say it in a prettier way, but that’s how it happened. I cried and I wrote and I cried and I wrote. Apparently I had a few things that I hadn’t had the chance to tell this lovely friend. So once I finished crying and writing, I dropped my key in the envelope and placed it in my purse on the off-hand chance I would see her at church in the morning. I almost sent her a Facebook message asking if she’d be there, but I decided I would just let fate, I mean God, do His thing. If I didn’t see her I planned to just send it in the mail. But like I said, I’m lazy. And there were a lot of feelings inside that card… that would be easier to leave in a forgotten drawer than deliver. But, indeed God did “His thing” and she was the first person I saw as I walked into church the next morning. Because of course she was. (That never happens. I hardly ever get to see her at church!) And then I find out it’s her last Sunday in Abilene, and at our church, before they moved. Because of course it is. Who knows when I’ll have the privilege to see her in person again. If I’d had the bright idea to bring her the Key one Sunday later, she would have already been gone. God knew. Because of course He does.
Here’s a picture of the Key in her hands:

20140102-134536.jpg

It was truly the perfect way to end my year of trusting. A final little leap of faith that ended so beautifully.
Thank you 2013, and Summer, and Jesus.
Here’s a little 30 second slideshow of some other sweet moments of 2013:

Such a good, hard, fun, long, short year.

So on to 2014… And my word for this year is….
Be
Just, be.

No other word to complete the phrase.
No strings attached.
I just get to be.
And I am so ready! I am so in!
It’s perfect. You see, I never choose a New Year’s Resolution. Personally, that just sets me up to fail because I never ever keep it up. Heck, I can’t even stay on track with giving something up for Lent. And that’s like… a considerably smaller number of days. Plus, I’ve never fully understood putting much hope in a new calendar year. I feel exactly the same as I did in 2013… which was a couple days ago. I do like the idea of “new”… But nothing really becomes all that new by changing the calendar.
Here’s the good news, though…there’s this Guy who is continually making all things new. You don’t even have to wait a whole year! It’s happening every day. I think I may pull out the Sparkling Grape Juice again in a month or two just to remind myself πŸ˜‰
One of the best, and simplest, and most challenging quotes I’ve ever heard is this:
“Wherever you go, there you are.”
You can’t run from last year’s problems just because you threw the old calendar away. You have to deal with them. And the best thing for that is some Jesus, not some New Year’s party. But before we’re too hard on the optimists, I do love how the population seems to mimic what Jesus promised… at least for one day a year: All things becoming new. You can kind of feel it this time of year, I can too. A clean slate, always offered. A new adventure, always waiting.
Admittedly, 2014 will change a lot of things for me. I’ll turn 18, graduate high school, start college, and plenty of other things. But… I’m not going to anticipate, I’m just going to be. That’s pretty much the hardest thing in the world for me to do, but I’m going to give it a shot. No strings attached. I’m going to focus on my relationships, my health, my stress level, and other things that I can’t think of right now because most of all I’m just going to BE, ok? And, I’m going to be ok.
Maybe that will be my song this year… Ingrid Michaelson’s “Be Ok.” I have a song every single year and it’s one of my favorite things about choosing a word. Last year it was “Trust” by Kristene Mueller, heard in the picture slideshow posted up above. I have been introduced to favorite artists this way… So yeah, bring it on Ingrid Michaelson. I will just sing above you and say “OK” with a question mark. Instead of “I just want to be ok, be ok,” it will be: “I just want to BE. Ok? I just want to BE. Ok???”
Let me be.

20140102-140604.jpg

What about you? Are you choosing a word for 2014? Do tell!

You can join me on my word too, if you want. Together, let’s be. Ok???
Loves,
Carlee

7 thoughts on “Words, Keys, and New Years

  1. Another incredible post! I had forgotten all about your “Word of the Year.” As we looked back on our year, I would say “trust” also was the critical word followed by “steadfast.” How appropriate it was that our prayers were answered in late November!

    “Be” is an excellent choice. How often are we so busy that we forget to just “be” in the moment. We are so worried about tomorrow we forget to “be” in today. I look forward the wisdom you will be shown, and hopefully share here, in this year new and new focus!

    Like

      1. Not sure I have a single word for my year, but I do know two words are key to success this year: Priorities and Focus. We have a lot in front of us including a new church, a thesis, and a part time job that is supposed to become full time. Lots of potential change. Priorities and focus.

        Like

  2. This is a pivotal year for you in the light of expected change…but with you and your openness to direction, all years are pivotal. Because of your example, dear granddaughter, I have chosen
    OPEN
    as my new word for the year.
    Love and prayers…blessings,
    mimi

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on anafalz and commented:
    This is another great post from Carlee Lane. I guess you could call it her recap of 2013 and preview of 2014. Like the others, this is candid and thought provoking. Enjoy! Blessings!

    Like

comment!

