You Are Enough

In all that you are, in whatever place you may be, and in all that you do… You are enough.

There aren’t any prizes for, or even such a thing as, being the best Christian. There’s only grace.
We fall into these traps that try to wreck our relationships with God, because we believe that our performance produces God’s love and happiness toward us.
And that’s just not how it works.

We believe a lot of lies when it comes to seeking God’s approval. Here’s the thing- it’s already been given. He wants to love us. He does love us. Perfectly and completely. I’m working on believing that, rather than the lies I may be told from people who possibly have the very best of intentions. It’s not a performance, it’s a relationship.

Listen, tired one. Listen, striving one. Listen closely.
You don’t have to wake up early in the morning to be with God, before the sun rises and your day begins. I know someone may have told you that long ago, or it may seem like all the “good Christians” do it… But it isn’t the only way. Your bed is comfy at 5:30 AM. I want you to know that you, snuggled up in your sheets, are enough.

You don’t have to have the highest GPA, or get into the top colleges; you don’t have to be perfect…ever. I know they say you do. But you don’t. Your class rank does not equate to your worth. You are enough.

You don’t have to memorize scripture, you don’t have to read your Bible through in a year. God isn’t angry that you picked up a different book. He’s not disappointed He has to see you watch TV instead. He just loves to see you. You are enough.

If you never touch your Bible again from this day forward, you will still be loved just as wildly and perfectly. You are enough.

And, you don’t even have to have a good day. That’s just too much pressure, anyway. Gather some good moments if you can, but even if you can’t…you haven’t failed. “Choosing Joy” doesn’t mean choosing fake happiness. Come with all your sorrows. You are enough.

You don’t have to like all the worship songs… and it’s ok if Christian music sounds a little screechy and overdone to you. It’s ok if you don’t always, or ever, sing along in church. It’s ok if that’s not your favorite. God doesn’t have requirements for the “Joyful Noises” and His love isn’t performance based. You are enough.

You don’t have to be at All The Things for church. It’s ok to say no to things, even good things. It’s ok to skip just because you needed some time spent alone, or with a friend. God isn’t shaking His fist at you. You, in all your weariness and introverted-ness, are enough.

You don’t even have to bow your head and fold your hands during a prayer to be heard. God isn’t so small and egotistical that this is irreverent. Pass the crayons to your 3 year old, make eye contact with your best friend across the room, check your text messages if you really must. You are not being judged. You are enough.

You don’t need a Jesus bumper sticker, the right CD in your car, or a Christian t-shirt to belong. You’re already in. His love doesn’t differentiate. You are enough.

There are no rules here, only grace.
There is no disapproval here, only love.

There are no “full Christians” and “half Christians”…only imperfect people, somehow made perfect through His love. You are not loved more or less for the choices you make or do not make. You are simply loved, beyond compare, just as you are. You are enough.

You are enough because He is Enough.
The One who crawls down to be with you in the trenches, the One who waits until you’re ready. The One who will wait forever. He is Enough.
Darling one, striving one, you cannot be separated from His love by any power that could ever exist. We were created in His image, the image of this all-consuming, all-inclusive, scandalous, love.
We have, and always will be, enough.

I used to think I was broken. Maybe I wouldn’t have worded it that way, but I used to beg someone, inside my head of course since I was much too scared to say it aloud, to come and fix me.
If I could just be fixed… Then I would be whole. If I could just stop doing That Thing… Then everything would be right. If I could just keep all my secrets hidden… I would be accepted. If I could have the right friends, the right words, the right stuff, I would be enough. I wanted someone to tell me how to Do All Of The Things right. I desperately wanted to be unconditionally loved, and whole. I mean, don’t we all?
And honestly, I still feel un-whole sometimes. There’s a difference in knowing you are not broken, and actually believing you are not broken. There’s a difference in knowing you are loved, and actually believing you are loved. There’s a difference in knowing you are enough, and actually believing you are enough. I still forget sometimes.
BUT GOD.
He wasn’t kidding when He said It Is Finished. He wasn’t exaggerating when He declared every sin and broken piece of me restored and wiped away. He wasn’t lying when He took all of my junk that I’ve done, am in the process of doing, and will do, and told me that I am free… just as I am… now and forevermore. He was serious. He means it. He believes it. And He desperately wants me (and you) to believe it too. I don’t get it, but I believe it. And I have to choose, and keep choosing, to believe it every single day.

I am enough. I don’t have to numb or ignore the pain and feelings that come…and they do come. Every single day they come. I can feel my feelings and live through them. I don’t have to let them break me. I can be strong enough. I am enough. And, I can also be brave enough to ask for help when I don’t see it in myself to do it alone. My brilliant friend, Glennon, always says that together We Can Do Hard Things. I can do hard things, it’s just really lonely. It’s better together. We Can Do Hard Things. We can remind one another that we are enough. Because it’s true. You are.
You are enough.

22 thoughts on “You Are Enough

  1. Oh my dear sweet Carlee, I want to be you when I grow up! Inspiration has been on my mind this evening. I saw a billboard driving home from Lubbock that said, ‘aspire to inspire before you expire’…you continue to inspire me child! I love you so!

    Like

  2. Another brilliant post! Part of David Black’s sermon yesterday was about not putting your rules on another and how to not accept those rules until the Holy Spirit puts them upon you. I think we so frequently accept other peoples rules or assume once we set ourselves on a course that course, and the rules that go with it, is forever.

    As usual, you bring very wise words! Thank you.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on anafalz and commented:
    Here is another insightful post from Carlee Lane. Carlee will challenge you as she reminds you that God will accept you as you are! This is a blogger you should follow!

    Like

  4. “I ‘am’ much too scared to say it aloud, to come and fix me,” to help me.
    Carlee, you are am amazing writer and person and friend. You have a way of being able to put things I cant put into words, into words. And I’m positive many many otheres feel the same. Thank you. Thank you, for sharing your amazing words.

    Like

comment!

