All Consuming Fire

Hello blog-world! Man, it’s been awhile!
First, I want to wish you all a joyous New Year. I suppose this is a tad behind the game but I need to tell you my word for the year! (if you’re a new reader, I pick a word on New Year’s Eve each year and watch as it transforms me and teaches me in the coming year. Last year my word was “anchor”. You can read about it in my New Years 2011 post.)
This year my word is “fire”
Cool, huh?
I can’t wait to see what God does with it. I haven’t had any revelations yet, but I know I will. Honestly, I keep seeing anchors. I seriously miss last year’s word. Funny how I can get so attached to A WORD! So God and I had to have a little chat about this. It went something like:
“Yo, I keep seeing anchors even though I’m supposed to be seeing fire and it’s really making me miss my word from last year and I just wish I could have that word again because it was so perfect and it’s still perfect and I just don’t see how I can give it up this easily.”
Then He said:
“Carlee, every word I give you or speak over you is TIMELESS. You and I will always have a special connection with anchors. I gave it to you as a gift. My gifts don’t expire.”

Oh yeah… Duh!
I’m glad He’s patient with me when I need reminders.
So I’m not as sad anymore. Just excited! Fire it is!

For the Lord your God is a consuming fire, a jealous God. (Deuteronomy 4:24)

He is jealous for me. He doesn’t want my attention to be on anything that isn’t of Him. He loves me so much that it pains Him when I stray. He’s a CONSUMING fire. He consumes every part of me into His perfect plan, into His love, into His grace. He baptizes me in His living flame of life! All Consuming Fire, You’re my heart’s desire! I desire to live in Your flame. You’re not dead, You’re fully alive and You’re roaring like a lion, winning the battle of my heart. There’s a war going on but the victory is in You. You are sovereign and You are strong. I’m proud to be in Your army, God. I’m on Your side and I KNOW the outcome, I KNOW how the story ends. You win. Love wins. Always.
Stir the fire in our hearts. Fan the flame of the Holy Spirit and make us whole.

20120112-220747.jpg

3 thoughts on “All Consuming Fire

  1. Ooh yeah! That got me all excited. I can’t wait to see what this fire looks like by December. God is so much fun! I love how He said His gifts are timeless. So cool! Love you!

    Like

  2. Oh, the Lion! What a perfect picture to accompany your post.

    I am again claimed by your phrasing and your zeal for the Lord. What a woman of God is being molded in your tiny little being! In all our laughter of the holidays, there was no clue of this consuming fire, and yet…it is always there. Your passion for justice and your clear view of the world and your insights into people–all are so obviously stoked by your claim on Truth and His claim on you. Our God is truly a consuming fire.

    I will pray with you about this new word. Perhaps He will give me another.
    Mimi

    Like

comment!

