I’m Anchoring

Ok I know I’ve already blogged about the new year but this is a different kind of post.
It’s about my word.
Each year I’ve started asking God for a word. He’s always faithful in choosing just the right one and helping me decipher it’s meaning throughout the year. My friend Candy is the one who introduced this to me and it has been one of the best experiences for both of us. You need to check out her word for the year!! You can find her blog under my links to the right.

You may remember I blogged a little about my 2010 word in my “Esther post”. My word last year was “servant”.

My word this year is “anchor.”

In my blog’s search-box I typed in the word “anchor” just to see how many times I’ve used it in blog posts, and 3 different posts came up. (my favorite number is 3!!!) so anyways, the cool thing is, one of the 3 was the Esther post!- the post that I wrote last year talking about my word- “servant”. And ironically the word “anchor” is somewhere in that post!! See if you can find it ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s used to describe a pretty awesome character in the book of Esther.

So my word this year is anchor. I’m excited to find out what this means. I kind of jumped on the boat at the last minute (no pun intended) ๐Ÿ™‚ but God only needs a second to speak His word into my heart. I wasn’t sure if my word this year would be “remember” or “anchor” I immediatly heard both. However, the more I thought about it, the more I kept discovering how similar in meaning they are to me, personally. I knew why God gave me the word “remember”- He wanted to remind me of this life-changing year I just finished. But I also think God wants me to be able to look ahead, into 2011….

When I “anchor” I’m able to look behind me and learn from my past, but I’m anchored to my Father and I can’t drift back into the deep waters.

I can also look ahead while I’m anchored to Him. He can show me the desires of my heart. I can watch excitedly, but I know He won’t let me go. I’m anchored to my Jesus, and that’s the best thing on heaven or earth that I could ever be a part of.

I’m just so excited because I know there’s more!! I just know it. I can’t wait to find out what that is! I’m overjoyed to be along for the (boat) ride on this awesome journey called life. And heaven is going to be even more spectacular. I can’t wait to hang out with Jesus everyday… But… Who says I have to wait? I can hang out with Him right now. Right where I am. And YOU can too!! I would encourage you to ask Him for a word, too. I know it changed my year. It can change yours too. 2011- what a perfect year to start. Just go to your quiet place with God and ask Him what He wants to tell you. I know you won’t be dissapointed. So GO! and be sure and leave a comment with your word! I love words ๐Ÿ™‚ I love YOUR words ๐Ÿ™‚

Loves and Happy New Year!
-Carlee

3 thoughts on “I’m Anchoring

  1. I’ve already shared with you my word for the year. I think this is a tremendous idea and I am excited about getting into your “anchored” boat with Jesus as the anchor. Perhaps he walked across the water to get in beside us.

    This blog entry may be one of my favorites of yours.

    klugs, (kisses, love & hugs),
    mimi

    Like

    1. Great word, Brandon! One of my favorite quotes is โ€œCourage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow.โ€
      Blessings on your year as God reveals a deeper understanding of courage for you!! Thanks for commenting!
      Carlee

      Like

comment!

