Brooke Fraser

i’ve heard nothing but good about Brooke Fraser’s new album since the day it came out. several of my friends have recommended it on facebook, twitter, and even in person; some of them actually knowing her personally. soooo, i was suckered into buying it. i love it though, i listened to the whole album as soon as i got it!

it just seems perfect for what’s going on in my life right now for several reasons.

she has a very different voice, so it takes some listening and getting used to. her musical “style” is described on her website as  “a pop marshmallow has dropped into a folk hot chocolate and become a warm, spicy chocolatey broth.”

nuff said….

anyways the point is, i really like her!  not guaranteeing YOU will. but it’s worth a shot.

here’s two of her songs from her new album, “Flags”, that popped out at me when i heard them…

FLAGS

lyrics to “Flags”

Come, tell me your trouble
I’m not your answer
But I’m a listening ear

Reality has left you reeling
All facts and no feeling
No faith and all fear

I don’t know why a good man will fall
While a wicked one stands
And our lives blow about
Like flags on the land

Who’s at fault is not important
Good intentions lie dormant
And we’re all to blame

While apathy acts like an ally
My enemy and I are one and the same

I don’t know why the innocents fall
While the monsters still stand
And our lives blow about
Like flags on the land

I don’t know why our words are so proud

Yet their promise soothing
And our lives blow about
Like flags in the wind

Oh oh oh oh

You who mourn will be comforted
You who hunger will hunger no more
All the last shall be first
Of this I am sure

You who weep now will laugh again
All you lonely be lonely no more
Yes, the last will be first
Of this I’m sure

I don’t know why the innocents fall
While the monsters stand
I don’t know why the little ones thirst
But I know the last shall be first
I know the last shall be first
I know the last shall be first

“WHO ARE WE FOOLING?”

lyrics to “who are we fooling?”

So we’re back here again
Tip toeing round the edge of the end
Wondering who will be last to admit
That we’re finally over

Turned twenty one on the day that we met
Terrible shoes and plausible dress
It’s funny how sad the funny things get as you grow older

Better or worse
But what else can we do?
And better or worse
I am tethered to you
If it’s not either of us
Tell me who are we fooling?

I love the art of biting my tongue
I’m tired of trying to guess what was wrong
Both agreed on where we should go
But not how to get there

We tried and tried to loosen the knots
Thinking once we’re untangled we’ll be better off
But it’s these failures and faults that hold us together

Better or worse
But what else can we do?
And better or worse
I am tethered to you
If it’s not either of us
Tell me who are we fooling?

This beautiful tangle that’s bruising us blue
It’s a beautiful knot that we just can’t undo
Together we’re one but apart tell me
Who are we fooling?

Cause real love
Is hard love
It’s all we have
It’s a break-neck
Train wreck
It’s all we have

So we’re back here again
Turning away from the edge of the end
Arm in arm

Better or worse
But what else can we do?
And better or worse
I am tethered to you
If it’s not either of us
Tell me who are we fooling?

This beautiful tangle that’s bruising us blue
It’s a beautiful knot we just can’t undo
If it’s not either of us, tell me who are we fooling?

Together we’re one, but apart tell me
Who are we fooling?

okay, one more because this one is an actual music video, those were ones that people made and put on youtube:

“SOMETHING IN THE WATER”

loves,

carlee

comment!

