Fortress Mission Trip

John 12:24
“Listen carefully: Unless a grain of wheat is buried in the ground, dead to the world, it is never any more than a grain of wheat. But if it is buried, it sprouts and reproduces itself many times over. In the same way, anyone who holds on to life just as it is destroys that life. But if you let it go, RECKLESS IN YOUR LOVE you’ll have it forever, real and eternal.

This was our “theme verse” for the week as we set out to intercity Ft. Worth on a mission trip. Each year the middle school girls at Highland have an opportunity to go on the”fortress mission trip” Fortress is a youth develepment center in a neighborhood most of us would label as “scary” it’s right smackdab in intercity FW. The wonderful people at fortress work with these underprivileged children to teach them about the love that the Father has for them. The men and women that work there are a strong “fortress” in the kids’ lives but they make a big point in letting each child know that God is our true Fortress. This year we had a chance to work with the ADORABLE pre-schoolers. Each girl got paired up with a Fortress kid. So many amazing stories and Jesus moments took place as we loved each child recklessly. God consumed us in His love all week by showing us things through the eyes of 4 year olds. The little girl I was paired up with was PRECIOUS. I have lots of pictures of her on facebook. I know for a fact that she blessed me more than I could have blessed her. She called me her sister!! Oh, she was precious. Sometimes it takes a 4 year old for God to show you how much He wants to love you and love ON you. My little girl always wanted to sit on my lap, always wanted to hold my hand, always wanted to play with my hair… Etc. I think that’s the kid of love God wants us to have for Him. This little girl met me and befriended me in less than 5 minutes. Most of us have known God our whole life and still don’t show Him the kind of love I experienced through these kids this week. More likely than not, I will never see this little girl again but because of Him, I can forever be connected to her in prayer. I hope you do the same. Pray that He haunts her with His love until she surrenders to His ways. I love and miss her so so much.

2 thoughts on “Fortress Mission Trip

  1. The two of you are precious together. I love it when you say, “Pray that He haunts her with His love until she surrenders to His ways.” That is an awesome prayer! I’ll join you in that one! God used you this last week to show her what that love looks like, Carlee. I pray she will long for more!

    Like

  2. Carlee,

    Heather shared your blog with me. You’ve said so many things so BEAUTIFULLY!! I would love to have your permission to quote you in our summer newsletter. Also, will you please email me the photo of your hands? That is truly worth 1000 words alone.

    Thanks for sharing your heart. So many more than you realize were blessed by you and the rest of your group last week. I, for one, experienced a moment of true worship and reckless love because your group was there when I needed you. I didn’t even realize I was going to need you until it happened! I love each of you!

    Stacy Kocur
    stacy@fwydc.org
    Director of Communications, Fortress YDC

    Like

comment!

