The peace that passes understanding down in my heart

There has to be a reason why I’m standing here
the water’s getting higher but I’m fighting fear
cause I can be still in the middle of a storm

There had to be a breaking for my heart to change
the winds have blown against me, but I’ve learned to stay
cause I can be still in the middle of a storm

You give me peace to rest my soul
inside this hurricane that blows
and I will anchor in the harbor of your love
Within my weakness you are strong
to stand against the rain that comes
you give me peace to be still
in the middle of a storm

I’ll sail into the gentle waters of your heart
I’ll rest within the haven of your open arms
I know where to be still in the middle of a storm
yes, I know where to be still in the middle of a storm

You give me peace to rest my soul
inside this hurricane that blows
and I will anchor in the harbor of your love
Within my weakness you are strong
to stand against the rain that comes
you give me peace to be still
in the middle of a storm

Tonight at soaking we talked about peace. It’s a hard concept to me because the world tells us to be completely opposite of peaceful. I often forget what it really means. I think too hard sometimes, my mind wonders too much. Love and joy seem easier to give then peace, you can give peace away, I’ve seen it done… But it’s difficult (for me at least) the world tells us to lead loudly, but God calls us to be peaceful followers. I’m not saying that we can’t lead radically here on Earth! We should do that!! But there’s a line drawn between the two. I don’t understand it, I don’t think I ever will. I just have to trust in Him and take doses of His peace daily. It IS the peace that passes all understanding. And it’s already in each one of us, you don’t even have to ask for it. I sometimes forget that it is just THERE waiting for me, waiting for me to grab it. It’s hard for me to stop and just Be. There is too much going on in my life that sometimes I feel like I don’t have time for peace. It sounds silly but it’s true. I want to focus on just Being. Isn’t that a weird sentence, ending with the word “be/being” that’s because the world tells us we have to BE something or somebody. But God tells us to just stop and be. Sometimes I’ll lay in bed for hours before I finally doze off. My mind never stops going and going and going. Even though the day stops, I don’t. I need His peace so badly I don’t even realize it. I want to have His peace in the middle of my storms.

2 thoughts on “The peace that passes understanding down in my heart

  1. i LOVE the part about how the world tells us to be ..something. never just be. I’ve never ever thought that before. I love to know I don’t have to be anything except for the very thing He has made me.

    Like

  2. I read this last night and, of course, I was blown away. But I had to sit with it before I commented. Like Jordan I hadn’t thought of being in quite that way before but I have. Know what I mean? I just hadn’t given it words. You’re so right. That’s the point. The world is against us. God is for us. If we listen to the world we will fall into that trap. But if we listen to God and really grasp this concept of being – of peace – of rest, we will conquer the world. And let me tell you, the world does not want to be conquered. It’s a battle and our weapon is rest. It’s something that has saved me many times over. Like last night. I’ve been struggling with an issue the last few days and it was definitely threatening to steal my peace. I was dangerously close to letting it. Then during that last song – for some reason it clicked and that blanket of peace Amy talked about came and enveloped me. It was glorious!! I am so glad I went and I am so glad I pressed in for that peace. I so needed it. Thank you Carlee for giving us this place to be.

    Like

comment!

